New Adventures in Writing

Welp. It’s been a while since I updated this site. In the time since my last blog post, I’ve finished my doctorate, started a new career, moved house, and published a number of short stories in various anthologies, which I’ll collect here eventually. One of the more exciting things I’ve been told this week is that my short story, Ascension, is going to feature in Best Lesbian Erotica 2016, from Cleis Press, which is being edited by the amazing Sacchi Green. So I’m pretty excited about that.

Another thing I’m excited about is Moonshine. 

I’m going to be straight with you: Moonshine is a bit of an experiment. It’s a novel, but stylistically it’s a bit of a diversion from what I usually stick to. I do love my historicals, but this one…has a lot of characters in it. Two pairings, I guess.

Moonshine is set in Prohibition-era New York, among the rumrunners and the other outlaws. I got a bit obsessed with this time and place in history, read a lot about it, and this book was the result.

Here’s the blurb:

James O’Hare is a lone wolf. Ten years out of Texas, he’s made a name for himself – in certain circles – rum-running in Prohibition-era New York, leaving the city for long stretches when his boss requires it. On the wrong side of the law in one way, it was easy enough to fall in with everybody else who’s avoiding the police for their own reasons; the outlaws and queers of NYC tend to frequent the same places. James doesn’t see the appeal in serious relationships, not even now that Steve’s broken off their no-strings affair to play house with Matt, his handsome new club pianist. James is pretty sure he doesn’t need anybody — at least until the moment he comes back after a long trip to find a new face in Steve’s bar, some stray newsboy Steve took in off the streets. James has no intention of letting this Kit boy change him — but he’s unprepared for finding in Kit a person who makes him want to change himself.

You can buy Moonshine on Amazon, here.

Leave a Reply

